Former Intern Receives Non-Traditional Intern of the Year Award

The Wabash Valley Community Foundation announced that former intern, Miranda Goodwin, was awarded Indiana INTERNnet’s Non-Traditional Intern of the Year at the 12th annual IMPACT Awards Luncheon.

Indiana INTERNnet is a statewide resource for internship opportunities managed by the Indiana Chamber of Commerce and has helped connect students and employers across the state since 2001. The event, which was held in Indianapolis on February 7, recognized interns, career development professionals and employers for having an impact in the internship arena. The theme for this year’s event was “Wild About Workforce Development.”

Goodwin is a 2017 graduate of Indiana State University and completed a marketing internship with the Community Foundation during the spring semester of her senior year. As a mathematics major with a minor in non-profit leadership, Goodwin was required to complete 300 internship hours in the span of four months.

The majority of Goodwin’s internship was dedicated to working on the Community Foundation’s Legacy Albums, which contain stories of those who have created endowment funds. Through reading provided material, researching other sources and interviewing donors and/or their relatives, Goodwin skillfully composed each narrative with emotion and purpose. These stories are often shared with the corresponding grant or scholarship recipients.

“I believe Miranda understood that an internship should be a continuation of the learning process and treated the internship exactly like that,” explains Beth Tevlin, executive director of the Wabash Valley Community Foundation. “She assisted with grant award distributions and attended grant award ceremonies to learn more about local nonprofits and how the grants awarded from the Community Foundation would impact that organization.”

Other interns recognized for their efforts are as follows:

  • College Intern of the Year: Jerica Mitchell (Indiana Minority Health Coalition, Inc.; Indiana State University)
  • High School Intern of the Year: Camisa Vines (South Bend Code School; John Adams High School)
  • Non-Traditional Intern of the Year: Miranda Goodwin (Wabash Valley Community Foundation)
  • Career Development Professional of the Year: Nathan Milner (Indiana Wesleyan University)
  • Employer of the Year (For-profit): Indiana Farm Bureau Insurance (Indianapolis)
  • Employer of the Year (Non-profit): Bowman Creek Educational Ecosystem (South Bend)

To learn more about Indiana INTERNnet or about the recipients of the 2017 IMPACT Awards, please visit For more information on the Community Foundation, please call Beth Tevlin, executive director, at 812.232.2234.